Search
Join our Newsletter
Categories
Use the purple search here to search across ALL Heart of Wisdom sites. Use search below the blue box to search store only.
Loading
Login

Welcome guest,

0 Items
$0.00
Vendors

What Your Child Needs to Know When Ebook

 
$15.00
SKU:
970181612
Size:
10.5 x 8.2 x 0.7 inches
Author:
Robin Sampson
Pages:
312 pages
Reviews:
5 Stars!
Qty:
 
 
 
 
(Downloadable)

See Customer Reviews at the bottom of this page.

 

 

Don't Miss this Homeschool-Best-Seller!

Concerned homeschooling parents are always asking "Am I doing enough?" This book answers this question and includes the checklists for academic evaluation for each grade K-8 and much more. Robin explains our children need to obtain academic knowledge, but, more importantly, they need to acquire the wisdom to know how to use the knowledge!

“You may be interested in this book because it includes the state standards but you will come away from it inspired to rely on God’s standards!”

Academic standards should not be separated from spiritual standards! We need to teach the whole child according to the child's individual God-given gifts. True wisdom progresses beyond intellectual pursuit; it is practical. The goals outlined in this book will help you prepare, teach, and evaluate your children from a Biblical world view. It will also advise you in helping them become self-motivated, lifelong learners.

Find Out:

  • What are the State Requirements
  • What are God's Requirements
  • How Children Taught in Bible Times
  • How to Prepare Goals for the Year
  • How to Overcome Testing Fears
  • How to Overcome Child's Testing Fears
  • If the Achievement Test Scores Accurate
  • Can the Bible be the Core of all Teaching?
  • How Greek Philosophy Influenced Public Education
  • How the Hebrews Educated Their Children
  • About the Heart of Wisdom Approach

Section I

The first section explains how we have been conditioned to believe the state is competent to assess our children's intelligence! You'll learn how different a Christian world view is and how to RENEW your mind to get rid of this "public education mentality." Includes a look at the Greek history of state education compared to history of Biblical education. The Hebrews focused on the home. Worship, family and academics were taught in the home, not separated subjects in individual locations. The home was more important then the synagogue. The center of all life-- religious, education, and training--was the home.

Section II

The second section explains what achievement tests are, test terms, test scores, testing limitations, avoiding testing anxiety, possible benefits from testing, states that require testing, alternative methods of evaluation, and much more.

Section III

Section III explains a new teaching approach (based on a combination of several effective approaches) called The Heart of Wisdom. The Heart of Wisdom teaching approach is centered around reading the Bible through in one year and the creation of a Bible portfolio. The Bible is the main focus and the core of the curriculum, with the secondary focus dedicated developing writing skills using the "writing to learn" method. The H.O.W. approach leads progressively to a renewed mind and to a self-chosen commitment to a life of intellectual and moral integrity. You can use this approach as explained, or adapt it to the methods and curriculum you are using.

Section IV

Section IV includes check lists are divided according to grade level K-8: Math, Science, Language Arts, and Social Science. Studies show "Evaluation Check Lists" are far superior to Achievement Tests! You can evaluate and make notes for up to five children with these lists.

There are also Bible Reading checklist and a Character Traits list. Also includes two extensive glossaries and valuable reproducible forms.

See Customer Reviews at the Bottom of this Page

Sample Pages

 

Customer Reviews

Peggy Lago

I recently bought and received your book What Your Child Needs to Know When. I have to tell you that it is much more than the catalogs describe it as. I have been wanting to run our school days in a different way (with more emphasis on scripture), but didn't really know how to change my rigid-schedule-ways, and didn't have the courage to do so for a long time. Even though most of our curriculum (if not all of it) is Biblically-based, (we even use Far Above Rubies for our 7th grade daughter) it just wasn’t enough for me, or at least not the way that I wanted things. It has seemed to me in the past that if I didn’t run a tightly scheduled ship, that things would run amuck, get out of hand, and that the kids just didn't seem to get their things done by the end of the day when left to work at their own pace. To avoid seeing some child aimlessly walking around, or wasting time,

I decided long ago that we would have a schedule to go by to keep them focused. However, I have never really liked it! I want to be Spirit-led in my schooling. I have read some things that started me thinking of how I could get going in the direction I so desired. The thing that helped me do it was your book! I loved the philosophy of teaching and the example of what a typical day might be like for you. God must have really got a hold of me then and things have been really different in our house! If we weren't done with Bible by 8:30 before, I would announce it was time for math! (Sad, Huh?)

Now, we start Bible maybe by 8 or 8:30 and sometimes go until 10 or 10:30! And the most exciting thing about it is that after Bible ( worship, and memory verses, and much discussion), the kids seem to go on their way and get their work done better and more quickly than before. It has been astounding to me that they get done sooner than before!

Thank you for being obedient to the Lord and for being an example to me. My husband and I are first generation Christians, and I am always blessed by Titus 2 kind of women, even after being a believer for 17 years, married for 14, and with four children of my own. Also, after all of the stuff on the loop awhile back about the lesson plans… I like them… thank you! I do have trouble picking though because all the options are so good!


Regina Ulmer, reginau@arkansas.net
I'm currently reading your book What Your Child Needs to Know When and it is EXCELLENT!!, and I can't wait to begin the Heart of Wisdom teaching approach. I felt like it was an answer to prayer when I read about it. Keep up the great work and may God bless you!!


Alma Johntson
I loved the "What Your Child Should Know When" book. I was feeling more and more freedom as a Mom/Educator and growing to understand even more fully, WHO I AM as a Christian! (Geez, I'm 38, it takes soo long, it seems)...

I have recommended these materials to mothers over and over and over! I love going deeper with my girls in the Word. This was lacking terribly for our first 3 years, but I didn't really 'get' what was discouraging me so. Now, I feel a real sense of purpose, vision and accomplishment. I praise God for how we are growing. I know we are just scratching the surface on all He has to teach and show us. Worship time is also very important to us, and that has gotten put aside a little for this, so i need balance. .... We just love it!


Pam from Texas
I purchased this book after discovering another book by the same author, titled: "A Family Guide to the Biblical Holidays." This book was such an inspiration to me and helped me to re-evaluate my curriculum choices. For fans of Charlotte Mason and Ruth Beechick, this is a must read! For everyone else considering homeschooling, this book will introduce you to a God-centered method of educating your children, while ensuring you have guidelines to meet state educational standards at the same time.


Happy Customer
I bought your "What Your Child Needs to Know When"updated, years ago and recently brought it down to reread it. I didn't have benefit of reading the first edition but appreciate your admitting to stepping down from earlier conceptions of what is acceptable, grade level,even Biblical or Greek in reference to those timetables we all have whirling in our heads.

One confirmation God often gives me that I am plodding along the path intended for my family (OK perhaps not the path but at least on the map somewhere) is continued revelation to just how faulty my conception of education is was and continues to be and how HE continues to encourage my enlightenment despite my relentless insistence on using the compass rose of others. Thanks again Robin!


Joy Lynn Martin
Well, glory be to God! I am very encouraged by all these great reviews. I am getting very excited about the fact that my children our comming out of public school and the one year we did homeschool before I had to go to work...well, I didn't have any money and I prayed asked God "what do i do to teach them"? He told me to use the Bible! "That will get you revelating"! I'm still poor, but God knows how to provide and I will be ordering your book "What Your Child Needs to Know and When" as soon as I possibly can. Please, pray for us as we are preparing to have our precious gifts home with me again full-time. The home is truly the God given place for learning. Fact! I can hardly wait Robin, and I haven't even read it yet! Love and Prayers..Joy


near muse
One is said to need to run in another's shoes in order to be qualified to judge them. But...
my summary of Robin's fine book, What Your Child Needs to Know When, is in the form of a running metaphore: When you are challenged by the world to compete in its race, don't fall to thinking that you ought best use shoes, track, stopwatch, and finish line, that are approved by the world. The world's standards are both wrong and too low.


Lizzie
I've been home schooling for 20 years and I didn't fully realize why God wanted me to home school until I got your material. I still have several children at home so I'm excited that I can spend time with them learning what God wants us to learn and that is more in depth in His Word!


danielle
Thank you for all your on-line samples. It makes it easier to make a decision. I appreciate your products and the Biblical emphasis. We have the Biblical Holidays and What Your Child Needs to Know When. Thank you for reminding everyone of the true reason we homeschool!


Annmairi
I didn't realize what the book What Your Child Needs to Know When was all about when I bought it. What can I say...curriculum shopping with 4 children.

The book is so much mroe than I was expecting. I haven't even actually "read" it....I read the first chapter and then skimmed through the rest of the book and just WOW! I think this is for which I have been desperately searching.

I have really been looking for something that would teach all of us (children and parents) how to fully integrate our beliefs into everything...making the Bible the basis...not just merely an occasional inflection or stand-alone-ish subject.

Anyway, I am really excited about the things I have seen so far in the book.


lisa fenwick (fenwickfamilyhomeschool@hotmail.co.uk)
WOW - Down to earth yet Heaven sent - thank you!!